Composer

Summer “News”

In Uncategorized on July 25, 2013 at 7:30 pm

Hello all! I am writing with absolutely nothing to report. No concerts, no events, nada. Because it’s summer and everyone is on a very well deserved break! Composers don’t get breaks though – break time for performers and ensembles is the perfect time to get writing done and update websites. Here are a few little things I’ve been up to in June – July:

-I completed my Sonata for Viola and Piano for esteemed violist Michael Hall – Michael travels internationally performing new music, and solicits and premieres countless new works every year. I am joining a fantastic crew of Chicago composers who have written for him just this year alone, and I have high hopes for the piece. I will let you know when it gets performed!

-I’ve received new recordings of my music in the past month. Please take a look at my SoundCloud and take a listen to my Piano Sonata (performed by Luke Gullickson) and On the Breakwater, a choir piece on a Sandburg poem, commissioned by the Wicker Park Choral Singers.

-Did someone say Sandburg? VOX3 still has CD’s available of my Chicago Songs on Sandburg poetry, and much more newly-written art song besides. Click here for purchasing info. (Hint, it’s the disc “New Song”)

Thanks all, and enjoy the weather!
Eric

 

Leave a Reply

