Composer

Mass of Eternal Love

In Uncategorized on October 23, 2012 at 12:40 am

Hello friends and colleagues! I am pleased to announce I was recently married to Stephanie Photakis. She has been my best friend and my guiding light for years now, so I’m glad she decided to stick with me for the long haul!

Because both of us are musicians, we of course wanted a ceremony filled with beautiful music. The illustrious Wicker Park Choral Singers, of which Steph is a member, generously loaned their voices to us, while the music director of our church, Robert Beatty, donated his organ chops. We filled our wedding mass with music old and new, ranging from Byrd to Rachmaninoff to Brian Baxter.

But as a Catholic and a highly discerning music-maker (cough), I was concerned in the wedding planning because we couldn’t find a mass setting we truly connected with. So, with only a couple months until the day, I decided to write my own. I couldn’t be happier with the result, and I’d like to share some with you. You can listen to a snippet on my new Liturgical Music page. If you like it, let me know!

Thanks, everybody! I’m looking forward to happy years ahead.

-Eric

Leave a Reply

